Expect to see more of Bender in Wilmington in 2018

As High-A Wilmington‘s 2017 season came to a close, they were in need of a starting pitcher. They called on right-hander Anthony Bender for a doubleheader start on the last Sunday of the regular season.

Anthony Bender

Blue Rocks starter Anthony Bender during Game 2 of their doubleheader on September, 3, 2017 (Jen Nevius).

The 20th round pick of the KC Royals in 2016 found out that he was coming to join the Blue Rocks the day before he started. “I was supposed to come two days before and then something happened where they called me back and I stayed in Lexington,” Bender said after the final game of the season. “Then we [Lexington] went on the road and I found out on the road that I was coming to Wilmington. So we were like two hours away [in Hagerstown, MD], so I just took a ride and showed up.”

While the Blue Rocks season was coming to an end, they were facing Northern Division champion Lynchburg, who was preparing for the playoffs (they have since been crowned co-champs in the Carolina League). The Hillcats had arguably the best team in the league and Bender had this to say about them: “They’re some good hitters. Definitely a step up from Lexington.”

Bender more than held his own on September 3rd, giving up three runs (two earned) on five hits and two walks over four innings. He struck out three. He allowed two hits in the first, with a run scoring on a wild pitch. In the 2nd inning, Bender allowed a sac fly to CL All-Star Sicnarf Loopstok after a single and stolen base from Mitch Longo (who was also up from Low-A). After allowing the second hit to Andrew Calica in the third, the Hillcats scored their final run off Bender in the fourth on another sac fly (two walks, a stolen base, and a single).

Bender’s goal in 2017 was to “stay healthy. This is my first fill season. I think it went pretty well.”

Bender opened the 2017 season with the Legends in May, when he was added to the roster on the 13th. “It started in the bullpen,” Bender said. ” It was going well. Then they gave me a call and told me I was going to start the next day [July 16th]. So I went and started, it went well. I was on a pitch count pretty early. Kind of fit into the rotation pretty well and started throwing a lot better as a starter. Getting called up here, I wasn’t sure if I was going to be starting or move into the bullpen again. They told me before I left I was going to keep starting.”

Anthony Bender2

Blue Rocks starter Anthony Bender during their Game 2 doubleheader on September 3, 2017 (Jen Nevius).

Overall, Bender went 5-5 with a 3.93 ERA in Lexington over 23 games. As a reliever (15 games), Bender was 4-for-5 in save opportunities with a 4.88 ERA. Opponents hit .270 against him, he walked just nine, and struck out 30 over 31.1 innings. As a starter (eight starts), he had a 3.21 ERA. Over 42 innings as a starter, Bender held opponents to a .220 average, walked 11, and struck out 44.

On July 21st, in just his second start of the season, Bender threw six no-hit innings. He did walk two, but struck out seven (78 pitches, 52 strikes).

“The pitcher I was going up against [Gabriel Lllanes of Columbia], he had a no-hitter going into the third, so I was just trying to beat him and not give up a hit before he gave up a hit. Then I think in the third or fourth, he gave up a hit, and I just kept on rolling. I noticed [the no-hitter] in the fifth, sixth inning. I knew I was on a pitch count, so I was kind of wondering if they were going to keep me in or not. And then they ended up taking me out.”

Side note: second baseman John Brontsema broke up Lllanes’ no-hitter with no outs in the third with a single.

 

His 2017 season is not over, as the Royals are bringing him to Surprise, AZ to participate in instructional league (which begins soon). Expect to see more of Bender in Wilmington during the 2018 season.

 

 

 

You can watch the entire interview below:

About Jen Nevius

I first became a KC Royals fan way back in 1995 when I attended my first Wilmington Blue Rocks game. I fell in love with minor league baseball then and began following the Royals as former Blue Rocks clawed their way to the big leagues. 3+ years ago I started covering the Royals for Aerys Sports, but since the site has been shut down, I am going out on my own.
This entry was posted in MiLB and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment