Blue Rocks Vines talks about his 2017 season

The first full professional season for right-hander Jace Vines was a successful one. The 2016 fourth round KC Royals Draft pick out of Texas A&M started the season with Low-A Lexington, was named to the South Atlantic League All-Star team, was promoted to High-A Wilmington at the end of July, and even made a start for Triple-A Omaha.

Jace Vines

Blue Rocks starter Jace Vines during his start on August 5, 2017 (Jen Nevius).

“I think it’s just been a year that God’s blessed me,” Vines said after his final start of the 2017 season in Wilmington. “He’s kept me healthy all year. I think I just finished 146 innings, which is a lot more than I’ve ever thrown and I feel really good.”

Side note: Vines threw just 57.1 innings after signing in 2016 between the AZL Royals and rookie level Idaho Falls.

Vines continued talking about his 2017 season: “God’s given me so much success and it’s a complement to the pitching coach and pitching instructors and coordinators that we have. I think it started in spring training. The coaches there were helping me with some mechanical issues that I had and I think this season has been about locking those mechanics down. Then competing with the fastball. I think I have a pretty good sinker, so that’s been the reason for a lot of success. But I think it’s mainly God helping me. This is his journey and a combination of figuring out those mechanics, locking them down, and competing with the fastball.”

With Lexington, Vines was 9-5 with a 3.42 ERA in 19 games (14 starts), but that was after a few not so great starts in July. Vines was selected to the South Atlantic League All-Star team, as he was 7-2 with a 2.64 ERA at the All-Star break.

“It was really cool,” Vines said about the All-Star Game. “The weather didn’t actually turn out that well that weekend. My family and even my little brother, he got to come out and they were there for that. I got to throw one inning in the game, which was enough for me. Just an honor. That team [Lexington] in my opinion, could’ve had about five or six All-Stars. I got chosen to represent us and I hope I did that well.”

Jace Vines2

Blue Rocks starter Jace Vines pitching in Game 1 of their doubleheader on September 3, 2017 (Jen Nevius).

After the All-Star break, I kept wondering “when is Wilmington going to get Vines?” The Blue Rocks needed starting pitching, but I had to wait a month for him to arrive. Vines was struggling when the Blue Rocks received him (5.16 ERA in July with the Legends) and he struggled right out of the gate with Wilmington in two starts (9.2IP, 11H, 7R, 7BB, 6K).

“I think it took me a couple outings to adjust [to Wilmington],” Vines said. “I think the strike zone is a little bit smaller, a little tighter, they’re [umpires] not giving a whole lot off the corners. It’s just locking down those mechanics every time. I was slipping out of what I was trying to do, earlier on this year when I got here. Not attacking hitters, I’m honestly giving them [hitters] too much credit. With [pitching coach] Charlie’s [Corbell] help, even more with getting into my lower half and maybe moving a little bit better to the plate. Overall, it’s just been the fastball command that’s been the key this year.”

Vines did adjust in Wilmington, finishing the season strong. Over his final 30.1 innings with the Blue Rocks, he allowed 30 hits and ten runs, walked eight, and struck out 14. He also threw two complete games (though both were in doubleheaders).

For his reward, Vines was promoted to Triple-A Omaha to make a start on August 28th. In Nashville, he allowed two runs on six hits over six innings of work. He struck out three.

“It was really cool. It was a cool experience,” Vines said when talking about his start with the Storm Chasers. “My family actually flew out and my fiancee and her family drove up, so I’m glad that they got to see it. It shows you that it’s not that far away. It kind of puts everything into perspective. I know all those guys’ names and some of them have big league time. Almost all of them have big league time. It just shows you that you’re on the right path. You’re doing the things you have to do, putting your work in every day. It was a really cool way to end the season and I’m glad that the upper management gave me that start up there. So it was really cool.”

Jace Vines

Blue Rocks starter Jace Vines on August 5, 2017 (Jen Nevius).

Did he get to pick anyone’s brains while he was in Omaha?

“I didn’t want to talk to them too much, kinda over-talk or over-step any boundaries. They’re just really professional guys. They have fun in the locker room, but when it’s time for the game, they’re just locked in. They go about their business and have their routine.”

 

I’m glad I had the chance to see Vines pitch a few times with the Blue Rocks because I really don’t expect to see him back in Wilmington during the 2018 season. He could be an intriguing option for the Royals starting staff sometime in the near future.

 

 

You can watch the entire interview below:

About Jen Nevius

I first became a KC Royals fan way back in 1995 when I attended my first Wilmington Blue Rocks game. I fell in love with minor league baseball then and began following the Royals as former Blue Rocks clawed their way to the big leagues. 3+ years ago I started covering the Royals for Aerys Sports, but since the site has been shut down, I am going out on my own.
This entry was posted in MiLB and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment