Blue Rocks Cramer learns from veteran in WBC

A week ago on the road, right-hander Gabe Cramer joined High-A Wilmington to begin his 2017 season. He made his season debut in Myrtle Beach with two scoreless innings of relief.

Gabe Cramer

Blue Rocks reliever Gabe Cramer pitching on May 2, 2017 (Jen Nevius).

Cramer made his home debut on Tuesday night, tossing three scoreless innings of relief. He struck out eight while mostly using his fastball.

Cramer missed the start of this season after an arm injury during the World Baseball Classic set him back. He pitched in one game for Team Israel, tossing a scoreless 6th inning of their first game of the first round in the WBC (against Korea). Cramer allowed a hit, but threw just eight pitches in a game that was 1-1 (Israel won it in ten innings).

Team Israel had quite a few veteran players and Cramer learned from one in particular. “I spent a lot of time with (Jason) Marquis. He’s a guy that’s been doing it a long time. He’s super competitive…Marquis was just kind of a bulldog. He was never the most talented guy. It was good to see that guys who believe in themselves and are confident, I mean at 41 years old I think Marquis was, was able to get outs from some of the best hitters in the world just because of what’s between his ears.”

What was the WBC experience like?

“It was awesome. It was a lot of fun. It was pretty cool playing for Team Israel. It’s not something I ever thought I’d have the chance to do. I really wanted to do it. It was one of those things, that no matter what happens the rest of your career, it’ll be something that I’ll remember and take with me for the rest of my life and career.”

Would you do it again?

“Yeah absolutely. I’m hoping in four years. Team Israel already qualified (for the next WBC) because we did so well. Yeah, four years from now, I’m hoping to get that call and pitch for them again.”

 

*A little background on Cramer: he signed as a non-drafted free agent in 2015 after his junior season at Stanford. He began his professional career in July of 2015 with the AZL Royals and then Burlington. He spent the 2016 season with Low-A Lexington.

 

 

You can watch the entire interview with Cramer below:

About Jen Nevius

I first became a KC Royals fan way back in 1995 when I attended my first Wilmington Blue Rocks game. I fell in love with minor league baseball then and began following the Royals as former Blue Rocks clawed their way to the big leagues. 3+ years ago I started covering the Royals for Aerys Sports, but since the site has been shut down, I am going out on my own.
This entry was posted in MiLB and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

