Blue Rocks Gallagher talks about his hot streak, fave pitcher

Since August 14th, Wilmington Blue Rocks catcher Cam Gallagher has been on a hot streak. Out of his last 13 games, he has gone hitless twice. Gallagher has gone 20-for-44 (.454) with five doubles and a home run. During that span, he has scored seven runs, driven in four, and only struck out twice.

Blue Rocks catcher Cam Gallagher at the plate on September 3, 2015 (Jen Nevius).

Blue Rocks catcher Cam Gallagher at the plate on September 3, 2015 (Jen Nevius).

Overall, Gallagher is hitting .248 in 75 games (246 at-bats). He has 15 doubles and five home runs. He has driven in 23 and scored 24. What I like best is that he has walked (28) almost as much as he has struck out (31).

Following his 2-for-4 night on Thursday, I asked Gallagher about his recent hot stretch and if he is starting to feel more comfortable at the plate.

“Yeah. Earlier in the year, I had a couple injuries and left for about two and a half weeks for the Pan Am Games. It’s kind of hard to get into a groove when you’re battling injuries and leaving and stuff like that. Just getting consistent at-bats and working with [Abraham] Nunez and everything like that. Just hitting in the cage, trying to work on stuff and it’s been paying off. I feel a lot more comfortable in the box.”

Speaking of the Pan Am Games, was it a hard adjustment coming back with all of the pitching turnover in Wilmington?

“I came back and I think three of out starters were gone. It’s always a little difficult having to learn new guys, their pitches, and their secondary pitches. I’ve known all these guys since spring training and instructional league, so it wasn’t too tough. It’s always tough losing guys like [Sean] Manaea and [Cody] Reed and guys like that. It’s always tough to fill those shoes, but these guys have done a good job.”

I put Cam on the spot, asking him who his favorite pitcher to catch was.

“I don’t want to be biased, I mean I like them all, but…From day one, me and Alec Mills have a pretty good understanding of working together and picking his brain. Realizing what he wants to do and what I want to do. I guess he trusts me and I trust him. We’ve got a good bond and it’s been paying off pretty well. He just won Pitcher of the Year, so can’t complain too much about that.”

Blue Rocks catcher Cam Gallagher on September 3, 2015 (Jen Nevius).

Blue Rocks catcher Cam Gallagher on September 3, 2015 (Jen Nevius).

Cam continued on about Mills: “I remember when I was in Lexington [2013] before he actually had his Tommy John surgery and he took off. He became a starter and was throwing mid-to-high 90s and got hurt. It’s always a shame to see someone go down like that. What he was doing in the beginning of the year [2015], it’s tough to see him go down again because he was in such a groove and pitching really well. His first outing was a little shaky, he gave up a couple runs, but it was his first outing back. It’s to be expected. He’s been getting back to his original groove and hopefully he can get us a couple of wins in the playoffs.”

I had to ask if the silver medal he earned at the Pan Am Games as a member of Team USA has a special place.

“The gold one definitely would have went in a special box. I mean, I’ll definitely cherish it [the silver medal]. It’s always a big accomplishment to get a silver medal, especially in the Pan American Games. It’s hanging up right now in my room. I’m not sure where it’s going to be in the next ten, twenty years, but it’s definitely a big accomplishment and definitely a proud possession of mine.”

 

Here’s hoping Cam can keep his hot streak going into the postseason for the Blue Rocks (which begins on Wednesday night in Lynchburg).

About Jen Nevius

I first became a KC Royals fan way back in 1995 when I attended my first Wilmington Blue Rocks game. I fell in love with minor league baseball then and began following the Royals as former Blue Rocks clawed their way to the big leagues. 3+ years ago I started covering the Royals for Aerys Sports, but since the site has been shut down, I am going out on my own.
This entry was posted in MiLB and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

