Guthrie retires…from being a sneakerhead

On Monday, KC Royals right-hander Jeremy Guthrie announced his retirement in a YouTube press conference. Despite his age (soon-to-be 36 in April), he was not announcing his retirement from baseball.

Instead, Guthrie was announcing his retirement from sneaker collecting. If you follow Guthrie at all, you know he is always picking up a one-of-a-kind sneaker and spending a good amount of money on the shoes. He even has a vault in his home in Utah for his collection.

Wonder if fellow sneakerhead Lane Adams will be getting more of Guthrie’s collection?

Not sure if you have seen the video yet (Guthrie takes awhile to get to the point), but you can check it out below:

 

More news from spring training:

  • Kyle Zimmer is rehabbing in minor league camp with the goal of pitching in games in May. He will throw off the mound for the first time since shoulder surgery on Sunday.

In his interview with Andy McCullough, Zimmer mentioned that you can only go to Walmart so many times in Surprise (he has been there for the last year). Last spring training, I saw him and Brian Fletcher dressed up as Ninja Turtles (with Brett Eibner as the baby sitter) in Walmart. I guess I won’t be seeing him this time around.

  • I wrote yesterday that there were two Royals who had yet to report to spring training. Kendrys Morales arrived just after I hit publish and Alcides Escobar strolled in a little later. So no late arrivals to Surprise.
About Jen Nevius

I first became a KC Royals fan way back in 1995 when I attended my first Wilmington Blue Rocks game. I fell in love with minor league baseball then and began following the Royals as former Blue Rocks clawed their way to the big leagues. 3+ years ago I started covering the Royals for Aerys Sports, but since the site has been shut down, I am going out on my own.
This entry was posted in MLB and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

