Cuba wins Caribbean Series title

For the first time since 1960, Cuba was crowned Caribbean Series champions. They returned to the series last year after a 54 year hiatus.

caribbean series2015After starting the five-team series 0-2, Cuba upset previously undefeated Venezuela in the semifinals. Cuba then beat Mexico, 3-2 in Sunday’s final.

Cuba scored single runs in the first two innings against Mexico’s Anthony Vasquez (who just last week signed with Philadelphia).

Leading just 2-1 heading into the 8th inning, Cuba’s best player, Yulieski Gourriel, homered to lead off the inning for Cuba.

Mexico collected just four hits, two off Cuba starter Yosvani Torres over six innings. Mexico had the tying run on second base with two outs in the 8th inning (after scoring a run one batter prior), but could not score. They went down in order in the ninth.

Frederich Cepeda of Cuba was named the Caribbean Series MVP. He had six RBIs in the final two games of the series. He had two hits in the title game and hit .471 in the series.


There were zero KC Royals players playing in the title game.


Next year, the Caribbean Series will be played in the Dominican Republic.


About Jen Nevius

I first became a KC Royals fan way back in 1995 when I attended my first Wilmington Blue Rocks game. I fell in love with minor league baseball then and began following the Royals as former Blue Rocks clawed their way to the big leagues. 3+ years ago I started covering the Royals for Aerys Sports, but since the site has been shut down, I am going out on my own.
This entry was posted in MLB and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s