Top Ten Right Now: CF & SS

On Thursday night, MLB Network began its yearly series of the Top Ten Right Now. They started their series with an hour of centerfield coverage, and then an hour of shortstops.

top-10-right-nowWith the great defense and offensive potential/breakouts of the KC Royals in those two categories, I was expecting high rankings for both.

Instead, I was left disappointed.

Let’s start with the centerfielders.

Sure, I was expecting Andrew McCutchen of Pittsburgh and Mike Trout of the LA Angels to be ranked in the top two spots. But sticking Lorenzo Cain ninth? NINTH.

Did the Shredder watch the postseason? In 2014, Lo-Cain was a human highlight reel. He also put together his best offensive season of his career (.301) in the most games he has ever played (133).

Host Brian Kenny ranked Lo-Cain at number seven, while analyst Darryl Hamilton had him coming in at number eight.

I understand the top five, considering Gold Glove winner Adam Jones of Baltimore was ranked fifth. But sticking Jacoby Ellsbury (NYY), Adam Eaton (CWS), and AJ Polluck (Arizona) in front of Cain? That I do not understand.

The next hour of MLB Network coverage was focused on the best shortstops. I really was not sure what to expect.

Colorado’s Troy Tulowitzki is regularly ranked number one, despite not being able to stay healthy. Same thing for Jose Reyes, though he is usually in the top five.

What shocked me about this segment was that no one, NO ONE, ranked Royals shortstop Alcides Escobar in the top ten.

What shocked me even more was that the Shredder had Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons ranked tenth, behind Oakland’s Jed Lowrie (who now he plays for Houston) and Pittsburgh’s Jordy Mercer (who came in at sixth).

You can watch the craziness for yourself:

About Jen Nevius

I first became a KC Royals fan way back in 1995 when I attended my first Wilmington Blue Rocks game. I fell in love with minor league baseball then and began following the Royals as former Blue Rocks clawed their way to the big leagues. 3+ years ago I started covering the Royals for Aerys Sports, but since the site has been shut down, I am going out on my own.
This entry was posted in MLB and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

